Hello! I’m back yet again for my final card of this week, this time with Le Ann’s World 101 and the start of the latest challenge. I’ve chosen a sweet image called Daisy to create a Scandinavian inspired Christmas greeting.

I started by sizing and printing Daisy onto XPress-it blending card and colored it with my Chameleon Pens and Pencils. I also added a mat beneath the tree by using an oval die as a stencil, drawing around the inner and outer edges of the die to create a quick and easy floor covering, perfect for grounding the entire image. Once my coloring was complete, I die cut the image out, using the largest Birch Press Rectangle Dot Layers Die. I added the die cut image to a slightly larger piece of red glitter cardstock that I thought would help to highlight the lovely border design of the die.

To decorate the rest of the 5″×7″ card base, I decided to add some thin strips of the red and some silver glitter cardstock. I cut some quarter inch thick strips with my Tonic Studios Tim Holtz mini guillotine trimmer and arranged them in alternating colors on my card. Before gluing them into place, I ruled a light pencil line across my card so that my alignment was perfect when I glued the strips into place. I didn’t create long single strips, instead I only used strips about 2.5″ long. This size is much easier to glue into place and because all the strips’ ends finish behind where my central panel was to go, no one would ever know that they were only small pieces, as long as I got my alignment with my pencil line correct. I alternated the colors as I went making sure both sides of the card matched.

Once I finished the horizontal strips, I temporarily laid my feature panel in place on the card. The top and bottom of the card base looked a little bare so I cut some more quarter inch thick strips of the glitter cardstock. I again ruled a light pencil line, this time vertically across the card base and slightly to one side. Having the strips slightly offset from centre reminded me of ribbon around a Christmas present. I also swapped the order of the colors in this strip, just for a point of difference and to highlight the fact that each strip had been laid down individually. Once again, I only used 2.5″ pieces of glitter card to create these rows of cardstock.

I added my Daisy image to the card with some foam tape for a little dimension to the centre of the card. Once it was in place, I felt the edges of the panel could do with that extra little something to frame the Daisy image a little more. I added a thin silver Peel off border around the edge and die cut some tiny poinsettia flowers from scraps of the red and silver glitter cardstock, using Poppy Stamps Poinsettia Mini die set. I layered the flowers and used the silver die cuts as leaves in opposing corners of the panel, gluing them in place with Ranger Multi Medium Matte Adhesive. Once the glue had dried, I added centres to each of the poinsettias with some lemon Ranger Liquid Pearls. I just think these little flowers finished the card off beautifully!

Don’t forget to try your luck by entering all the “anything goes” challenges that I’ve highlighted this week. One creation could be entered into all three! It’s certainly been a marathon cardmaking week for me, I’m looking forward to a quieter weekend ahead! Thanks so much for spending time with me today. I look forward to next time…😊

Leave a comment