Hello! A popular colouring trend is no line colouring but it’s usually done by stamping images with a light coloured ink. Today I’m showing how tracing around a stencil, and a little imagination can give a similar outcome to the stamped version.

Tim Holtz stencils are always great to have in your stash and this year’s releases are no exception. I couldn’t wait to get my hands on his new Floral Layering stencil and experiment.

I decided to just draw around the inside of selected flowers, stems and leaves, using Greyed Lavender (1026) and Pale Sage (1089) Prismacolor Pencils. Once I removed the stencil, I used a little imagination and started colouring the spaces between the shapes. They became the darker areas of each element. I used the traced areas of the stencil as a guide for the lighter areas of each piece.

For the flowers, I coloured them using Greyed Lavender, Lilac (956), Dahlia Purple (1009), Violet (932) and Indigo Blue (901) and Pale Sage and Kelp Green (1090) Prismacolor pencils for the stems and leaves. I finished each flower off with black stamens, using a Black (935) Prismacolor pencil.

Once I’d coloured all the elements, I fussy cut along one side of the piece and glued it onto a piece of matching 5″×7″ Lavender cardstock with acid free PVA craft glue. I gave a little dimension to the flowers by adding black dots to each stamen with my Tuxedo Black Pico Embellisher. As I was aiming for a CAS card, I only added two strips of glitter washi tape and a few dots of Glossy Accents to finish the card off.

As for card challenges this week, I decided to enter AAA Cards Challenge #88 that calls for the use of stencils. They may not have had no line colouring in mind when they set that challenge but this card qualifies just the same. This card also meets Simon Says Stamp’s Wednesday Challenge theme of spring colour inspiration.
I hope you feel inspired by this card and give drawing around a stencil and no line colouring it a try. This technique does call for quite a bit of interpretation compared to using a stamp, but I found that to be a pleasant, less restrictive change.

2 thoughts on “No Line Colouring, Using A Stencil

  1. WOW! I had to do a double take on this one as I wondered where the stencil was until I read your post! Absolutely STUNNING and a complete work of art. Love the bold purple BG and such a wonderful idea for our challenge. Thanks so much for playing with us at AAA Cards this week. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment