Hello! I’ve been working on a project all this week and, while it’s  progressing slowly, it seems to be draining all my energy. I think it’s safer to walk away, for now.

I decided to make another project that was going to be finished in a couple of hours. When I’ve been concentrating so hard, I find it therapeutic to just make a technically simple card to reset myself.

I wanted to make a card that fit as many challenge criteria as possible, while remaining quick and easy. I took the colours from Cas-ual Fridays Color Challenge 176, the design sketch from Simply Less Is More Sketch Challenge #20, the theme of using patterned papers from Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge and finally added the anything goes themes from Crafty Creations Challenge and Crafty Addicts Challenge #37

Starting with the colour and patterned paper theme, I found two sheets of patterned paper, from a set I had bought in a supermarket four years ago, that matched the colour scheme of aqua and coral. I found some grey card that also matched the patterned papers and cut a 5″×6″ piece to create my card’s plain sections with.

I used Lawn Fawn’s Stitched Edge die to create a stitched pattern along each of the four edges of the grey card. I then used two generic stitched hillside dies to cut the wavy centre section so that it suited the sketch challenge. When I placed these dies, I didn’t leave too much space between them. The two parts of this panel were going to be butted up against the upper and lower edges of a 5″×7″ card, so, after only cutting it 6″ long, I knew they would be already an inch apart when in place.

I cut a 4″×5″ piece of patterned blue paper, to fit in between the two grey sections and glued it to my card base. I then glued the two grey pieces to the top and bottom of the card.

I fussy cut three roses from the coral patterned paper, along with a couple of leaves to augment the flowers. I also die cut some tiny butterflies, using the Memory Box Peaceful Butterfly Wings die (98880), using offcuts from the roses paper. I covered the roses with a layer of shimmer, using a Spectrum Noir Clear Overlay Sparkle Pen and set them aside to dry. I also added a quick coat to the butterflies.

Once dry, I slightly shaped the edges of each rose with my finger and glued two directly onto the card. The third one was affixed with a strip of foam tape, to bring it up from the other two roses behind it.

I then die cut a sentiment strip, using My Favorite Things Stitched Sentiment Strip dies and added a simple happy birthday greeting, using peel off stickers. I put two pieces of foam tape at either end of the strip and placed the sentiment strip over the bottom rose. I lifted a leaf over one end and added a butterfly to the other.

I finished off with a few drops of Nuvo Crystal Clear Glaze, as water droplets. I have been having problems with the nozzle of my Nuvo bottle. It was allowing way too much liquid out for my liking. I was really struggling to get the dots I was creating small enough. Luckily, Ranger Fine Tip Applicators also fit the Nuvo bottle and I was able to get the tiniest of droplets onto my card. These bottle tops have a needle in the lid that slips into the nozzle to keep it clear and are easily moved from an old bottle to a new. They can be hard to find (I got mine though Simon Says Stamp here) and could be considered a bit pricey, but I think they are worth the money when you want lots of control.  Check out the smallest dot I was able to create on the bottom left of the sentiment strip!

This card is quite a change for me. I’ve never used these colours together before and I’m pretty happy with the outcome. I’m particularly pleased with the tiny droplets. I’ve even surprised myself with how small I was able to get them.

8 thoughts on “Quick & Easy CAS Card

  1. This is gorgeous, Anne! I love the soft colours and elegant flowers. You have done a great job with the Nuvo drops too! Thank you for playing along with us at Less is More this week 🙂

    Like

  2. This is so pretty! The patterned papers are gorgeous, and I love the sparkle over the flowers… beautiful. What a lovely take on our sketch challenge! Thanks so much for playing along with us at Less is More 🙂

    Like

  3. A stunning take on our sketch this week Anne. Full of elegance and class with dimension and shine. Thanks for joining us at Less is More this week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

