Hello! I’ve been stuck thinking of this month’s Altenew Inspiration Challenge and I’ve decided to try another card using the challenge colours. I also decided that this time I would use the extra theme of white on white that Altenew also added to this month’s challenge. While I still can’t bring myself to use white and cream card together, my take of cream on cream should be a close match.

I also took inspiration from two other challenges for this card. I’ve used the theme of using a resist technique from the current AAA Cards Challenge and the emboss it theme of Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.

I started by stamping Altenew’s Wood Pallet Stamp onto cream watercolour paper that I had cut to 4″×6″, using Versamark Ink. I heat embossed it with some old pearl white, semi clear embossing powder that I had lying around and had never used. I inked the entire panel with Spun Sugar and Aged Mahogany Distress Inks in an ombre style, using an Inkylicious ink duster and set the panel aside to dry. Once dry, I buffed the panel with a tissue to remove any excess ink that remained on the embossed areas.

I wanted to give the woodgrain panel a small border but had no matching cardstock, so to create one I cut a piece of cream cardstock down to 4.25″×6.25″ and inked the outer edge of the card with Aged Mahogany Distress Ink, using the ink pad directly onto the card. As only a small amount of the card would be showing, I didn’t bother trying to colour the entire piece. I glued the two panels onto a 5″×7″ card base and set it aside to dry.

I then heat embossed several floral elements, using my new favourite stamp set, Altenew’s Adore You stamp and die set. I die cut them out and added a small amount of Antique Linen Distress Ink to add a bit of shading to the flowers. I also added shading to the leaves using Peeled Paint Distress Ink. I arranged the flowers and leaves in a cascading display and used both foam tape and Ranger Multi Medium Matte Adhesive to secure them into place.

To finish the card off and add a sentiment, I stamped and heat embossed a small greeting from the Altenew Fresh Freesia stamp set onto a scrap piece of the watercolor paper. I trimmed it down to size and inked it in the ombre style as I did with the woodgrain panel. I adhered it into place with some more foam tape.

I finished the card off with a few drops of Glossy Accents to resemble water drops on and around the flowers. I think this always gives a little more of an authentic look to a floral display.

I think this is a much more subtle attempt at the Altenew Challenge and I’m much happier with the outcome this time. I am left wondering though, whether I’ve left enough clean space to truly qualify for AAA Cards’ CAS definition.

4 thoughts on “Distress Ink Resist

  1. Such a beautiful resist background to place your flowers on. Love all of the texture and soft colors. Thank you for playing with us at AAA cards.

    Like

Leave a Reply

