Hello! I’ve been dying to have a play around with plaid building stamps to create rainbow backgrounds and this week I’ve finally had the chance, and the inspiration.

Winnie & Walter currently have two challenges, W&W Rerun #20 focuses on their scenery stripes stamp set and the W&W June Color Challenge focuses on using several bright colours. While I don’t own their stripe stamp set (yet), I found the inspiration I’d been searching for in two of their inspiration photos. In Keren Barker’s card, she had stamped a rainbow design that gave me ideas on how to use colour in my plaid.

To start my card, I repeatedly stamped plaid stripes on a piece of white cardstock, using one of the stamps from My Favorite Things’s Plaid Building Stamp Set, with multiple colours of Memento dew drops dye ink. To keep everything even, I used my MistiMisti Creative Corners Set and a sheet of graph paper to keep my spacing just right. I’ve seen others eyeball their spacing but I’m the world’s second worst stamper and I wasn’t taking any chances (I still live in hope that there’s a worse stamper than me out there!).

I also took some inspiration from another card, by Heather Hoffman, on her Winnie & Walter rerun blog post. I chose to try stamping a simple stripe piece of card, where the stripes were placed directly beside each other. I used a single thick line stamp from the Simon Says Stamp Jumbo Stripes Stamp Set. This piece turned out a little too dark for me so I decided to break the dark colours up with a little white. I stamped the words “Big Hugs”, from Simon Says Stamp Jumbo Stripes Stamp Set repeatedly along each stripe. I used Memento Luxe Wedding Dress pigment ink and again, I used my Misti to make sure I got a crisp image. I then doodled white stitching along the edge of each stripe, using a Sakura White Gelly Roll pen and a ruler. This helped break up the darkness that had overwhelmed the piece. I die cut a large heart from the plaid card and a smaller one from the rainbow stripe card, using Hero Arts Infinity Hearts Die Set.

Once I started placing the hearts on a card base, I decide to add an oversized tag for a backdrop. I didn’t have a large fish tail tag die, but I did have dies I could use to make one. I used the straight border die from My Favorite Things’ Stitched Borders die set #2 to cut around three edges of a piece of white cardstock and used the V shaped border die from My Favorite Things’ Stitched Borders die set #1 to create the fish tail bottom of the tag.

I glued the tag into place and added my two hearts. I then set about making my sentiment by die cutting five Winnie & Walter “hugs” words and gluing them together to make a stack. I added the word to the card front and covered it with a layer of shimmer, using my Spectrum Noir Clear Overlay Sparkle Pen.

Once the card was assembled and unusually for me, I added a few sequins. These sequins were from a freebie pack I received with a Winnie & Walter order. I picked a few different ones from my pack and glued them into place using Glossy Accents.

The dimension of my sentiment also works well enough for me to add this card to this week’s texture theme of Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge and the theme title of “touchy feely” could also apply to the “hugs” theme in the sentiments on the card. It all depends on your perspective.

I love the CAS look this card finished with and the stamped and die cut sentiments really worked well together, even if one sentiment could be seen to be describing the other.

4 thoughts on “Big Hugs

    1. A little? A lot!
      I’ve been struggling with how to lay out the colours in my mind and your inspiration allowed it all to fall into place for me. It had been a huge hurdle for months, so thanks heaps for helping me out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

