Hello! This card is another creation inspired completely by design challenges. I’ve used neopolitan ice-cream colours from Less is More Challenge #331, the sketch from Freshly Made Sketches #290 and the theme of using patterned papers from Cas-ual Fridays Challenge #175

I started by cutting a piece of cream card to use as feature panel on a 5″×7″ cream card base. I also cut a slightly larger panel of dark brown patterned paper to mount the cream feature panel on when it came time to assemble the card.

Using an old pink and brown coloured pattern paper set I had lying around, I cut floral elements using Winnie & Walter’s In Bloom Maggie’s Roses die set and assembled the layers, using Ranger Multi Medium Matte Adhesive. One of the roses has a very open centre so I trimmed a small offcut from the centre of the other flower into shape and filled the space. This gave both flowers a more consistent look for this particular design.

I also die cut a cream doily, using Cheery Lynn’s French Pastry doily die and a strip of the dark brown patterned paper to go across the cream feature panel. I trimmed the doily down on one side and arranged all the pieces onto my cream feature panel, gluing them all into place. I finished off by adding an old peel off thank you sentiment to the top left corner.

I also decided to add this card to one final challenge. Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge is having another “anything goes” theme. No doubt, the competition will be fierce again with the freedom that challenge gives.

This is the first time I’ve die cut patterned paper to create my features. As long as the papers match well, I think they give the die cuts a whole new level of interest. However, I was a little disappointed that the colours of the papers didn’t photograph true to colour. The centre of the leaves look much more brown in real life. 

7 thoughts on “Maggie’s Neopolitan Roses

  1. Gorgeous card Anne! The patterned paper really does breathe new life into die cuts and I love your tip about adding a piece to the centre of one of the roses. The doiley adds interest to the design too. Thank you for sharing this with us at Less is More xx

    Like

  2. Thanks so much for playing Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Anything Goes” Challenge! Beautiful colors and design. Well done!

    Like

  3. Beautiful card. I love how you created the flowers using the pattern papers. Thanks for playing our Cas-ual Fridays challenge!

    Like

  4. This is beautiful!! I love those roses and they are so charming with the polka dot paper! Thank you for playing along with us at Freshly Made Sketches.

    Like

Leave a Reply

