Hello! I I’ve been concentrating so hard on my cards lately that, today, I just wanted to unwind. I didn’t want to think too hard on design or technique, I just wanted to create. 

To keep my thinking to a minimum, I decided to use multiple card challenges as my inspiration. I used the design sketch from Freshly Made Sketches #286, the colours set in this month’s Altenew Inspiration ChallengeDies R Us Challenge #72 theme of using dies with flowers and the theme of AAA Cards Game #89 of bright and beautiful CAS design.

Starting with the design sketch, I started the card by cutting a circle frame using the largest two MFT Inside and Out Stitched Circle dies. To give the frame definition against the white background, I coated it heavily with a layer of glitter using the Spectrum Noir Clear Overlay Sparkle Pen.

This frame was the perfect size for the largest of Altenew’s Halftone Circles. I stamped the Halftone Circle directly onto the 5″×7″ card base, using Pistachio Memento Dew Drops dye ink, getting the placement right for the design sketch using my Misti.

I recently purchased Altenew’s Adore You stamp and die set and had been itching to use it. I stamped six of the flowers onto a scrap of watercolour paper with VersaMark and heat embossed them with white embossing powder. I then cut them out using their matching dies. I had considered using leaves in my design but decided to the green I was already using in other elements of the card would be enough to compliment the flowers and keep to the CAS theme a little better. I quickly inked the flowers using Spun Sugar, Picked Raspberry and a tiny touch of Aged Mahogany distress inks using sponge daubers.

To finish off the elements of the design sketch, I stamped and white heat embossed a sentiment from the Adore You stamp set on watercolour paper and die cut it using one of the MFT Stitched Sentiment Strips die set. I cut a second banner a little longer by partially die cutting one end, moving the die along the cardstock and completing the cut with a second run through the die cutting machine. I coloured both banners with Shabby Shutters, Crushed Olive and a smudge of Forest Moss distress inks, again, using sponge daubers.

I arranged all the elements and glued them into place, finishing off the piece by placing the final sentiment banner into position with a strip of foam tape, to add a little dimension. Lastly, I rounded off the corners for a softer look that matched well with the circle frame.

It was lovely to be able to keep all the techniques simple and it was just as nice to get such a beautiful result by simply combining different card challenges. A very restful card to make!

7 thoughts on “Adore You Flowers

  1. WOW! Beautiful blooms, so pretty and bright, perfect colouring and a wonderful CAS design too. Thanks for playing along at AAA Cards this week

    Like

  2. Wow, this card is amazing! Love the floral arrangement and the half-tone circle in the center is such a cool look. Thanks so much for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches.

    Like

  3. Absolutely beautiful flowers! I love the way you have used the background and another flower peeking from the top. Thank you for playing along with us at Freshly Made Sketches.

    Like

Leave a Reply

