Hello! My parents are reaching a major milestone this month, celebrating their 60th wedding anniversary! Of course, I had to make something special for the event and the usual, mature looking florals just didn’t seem to accommodate my father, as well as my mother. Flowers on a card for my father just doesn’t suit him. I decided to think out of the box, aiming my design to suit a man just as much as a woman. So, I aimed for a “lovey” male card…

I decided to use Honey Bee’s Pick Up Stamp Set, using the truck to cart hearts. A “lovey” truck! I stamped the truck and created a plastic covered mask for it (as I did in this post). I masked the truck and stamped the tray walls. I made a similar mask for the tray walls and stamped the hearts to appear as if they filled the tray. Masking this way, the hearts didn’t look like they’re in the tray, rather they look like they’re only sitting only on the top. To fix this, I hand drew lines that made it look like the hearts filled the entire truck tray, using a Tsukineko Memento Tuxedo Black marker that’s alcohol ink friendly.

I coloured the truck using my Chameleon Pens, without fusing any of the colours, and fussy cut the piece leaving a small white border. Once dry, I covered the truck panels and hub caps only with Glossy Accents, to make it look like the truck was well polished. Knowing my father, he’d be bound to make a comment about a poor quality polish being used on the truck if I omitted that detail.

I then set about creating a scene for my truck. I’d seen Jennifer McGuire recently showing how to make a hidden slider track and thought that perfect for my truck, but I first had to make a scene for my car to travel across. I used MFT Trees In The Forest die set and the stitched slope edge from MFT Hit The Slopes die set, placing the slope die in the centre of my card so that I could use both halves once cut. Having stitching on both sides of the cutting line is great for that purpose.

Before gluing the scene elements into place, I needed a sky. I decided to make a more permanent cloud inking stencil. I die cut a piece of stencil plastic with the Lawn Fawn Puffy Clouds die set, cutting each of the dies along three of the edges of the stencil. I had used card to make my previous cloud stencils but had found they were starting to wear out with the amount of use they were getting. Using the stencil plastic has made a much more durable stencil that will certainly withstand frequent use and the dies cut through the plastic easily. I used it, and an Inkylicious ink duster, to apply Tumbled Glass Distress Ink to the top of my card panel to create a cloudy sky. I adhered the die cut scenery elements into place, after inking the edges of the slopes and the bottoms of each tree top with Mowed Lawn Distress Ink, using a Tsukineko sponge dauber.

I trimmed the background panel down to 6″×4″ and used the straight stitch Lawn Fawn Stitched Border die on the edges, to frame the background panel with a corresponding edge to the elements on the panel.

I followed Jennifer McGuire’s instructions to make the mechanism for the hidden slider so it would fit across the bottom third of the background panel. I die cut a pull tab with the pull tab die from the MFT Interactive Birthday Cake die set and stamped a sentiment on the pull tab, using Honey Bee’s Happiness stamp set and the matching Sentiment Builder set. I attached the truck and made sure all parts of the slider mechanism were working properly.

I cut the top edge of the slider cover with the straightest MFT’s Grassy Hills die and again, used the Lawn Fawn Stitched Edge die on the three remaining straight edges of the piece so it also matched the other pieces. I attached it to the top of the slider assembly with foam tape and again, made sure the slider worked properly. I rubbed all the slider mechanism’s parts with an antistatic bag, to stop any parts sticking. I found the truck was catching on the grass edge in a few spots but bending the grass blades forward slightly corrected the problem.

To finish the panel, I strategically glued tiny die cut hearts behind where the truck sat with the pull tab inside the card, using Ranger Multi Medium Matte Adhesive. I wanted the hearts to appear as if they were flying out the back of the pick up as it travelled across the card when the tab was pulled. I can already hear my father saying this truck should get an infringement notice for failing to secure their load…

I finished off the card by attaching the entire panel to a 5″×7″ card base. I think the half inch border left blank around the main panel, framed it nicely and allowed the feature to remain the focus. I added gold numeral Peel Off Stickers along with some very old sentiment Peel Off Stickers, to add a little bling. I had considered heat embossing a sentiment but after all the work I’d put into the card so far, I didn’t want to take any chances messing anything up with a potential heat embossing error. Stickers were safe!

For this card, I am entering it into Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge as this week’s theme is the great outdoors. I’m also still able to add this card into Crafty Friends Challenge #56 and Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge that are both still running with a theme of anything goes.

I just hope my parents like this light hearted card for their anniversary. I think this card would also mako a great wedding card, as long as both recipients have a bit of a sense of humour. I know some men who would have a ball playing with the pull tab feature, for days!

Chameleon Pens used:

  • Turquoise BG3
  • Aquamarine BG4
  • Burgundy RD5
  • Crimson Red RD4
  • Vermillion RD3
  • Bark BR5
  • Taupe BR1
  • Cool Grey CG8
  • Deep Black BK4
6 thoughts on “A Pick-Up Full Of Love + Die Cutting Stencil Plastic

  1. Oh my goodness! What an absolutely lovable and refreshing take on an anniversary card! I am so impressed with the way you chose an image that suited both he and she. And the fact that it is interactive is like frosting on the frosting! This made me smile and I’m sure that it will make your parents smile for years to come. What an awesome treasure of this big event in their lives! Kudos to them and congrats to you on making something so perfect! Thank you for sharing your talents with us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

