Hello! Rainbow colours are really popular at the moment and I have to say I’m another who has fallen in love with using the entire colour spectrum on a single piece.

I started this card by drawing shapes with Prima Marketing’s Decor II stencil, twisting and flipping the stencil as I went, until I filled a 5″×7″ piece of Spectrum Noir Blending Cardstock. I used the fine tip of a Tsukineko Memento Tuxedo Black marker to draw around the stencil. The ink is alcohol pen friendly and the tip doesn’t leave too much ink on the stencil while working.

Once I filled the card with shapes, I coloured each shape using the Chameleon Pens listed below. Starting in the top right corner, I coloured, blending one colour into the next in the middle of a shape. This gave a smoother appearance to the blend compared to just changing colours in a adjacent shape and it really was fun to do.

Once all the shapes were coloured, I went back and redrew each shape with the black marker, to give the outlines more definition and used the grey Chameleon Pen to draw a shadow on each shape. I didn’t have a lighter grey alcohol pen so I used a light #95 grey Tombow marker to give the shadow a second layer. I finished by adding white dots to each shape, using a white Sakura Gelly Roll pen (XPGB#50), just to add a little interest.

I didn’t want the card front to be just the rainbow panel, even though it would have looked OK. I decided to die cut the bottom edge of the panel using MFT’s Stepped Up Chevron die. I also cut a plain white chevron strip to add to the edge of the panel as a border and left the bottom inch of the black card base blank.

For the embellishments, I cut a happy and a birthday three times each, using Tim Holtz Celebration Words: Script sentiment dies, and stacked them to make a dimensional sentiment. I decided to put generic JAC style paper on the back of the black cardstock, instead of using glue. These words are quite fine and I felt it would be quicker to use the double sided adhesive paper instead. To make sure the adhesive paper was well secured, I pressed down on the stack heavily with a large stamp block.

I wasn’t satisfied with just a sentiment on the rainbow panel. I die cut two generic butterflies, again three times each, from the same black adhesive backed cardstock and, again, made a stack. I had to run these dies through the die cutting machine a number of times, to make sure all the layers were properly cut. While the adhesive paper makes short work of the gluing process, it can be quite difficult to get the intricate die to cut through all the layers but repeated runs through the die cutting machine usually works. I always find it satisfying to make my own embellishments because I know they’re going to be unique to my projects.

To assemble the card, I created a top folding 5″×7″ black card, in the same way as I did in this post. I attached the rainbow panel to the top of the front and the white chevron strip below. I glued all the elements onto the rainbow panel after covering each with a heavy layer of the Spectrum Noir Clear Overlay Sparkle Pen and sealing it into place with a thin layer of Glossy Accents.

And now to the challenges. I have found four challenges that this card is eligible for. Time Out Challenges #80 have given this quote as inspiration: “When it rains look for rainbows, when its dark look for stars”. The rainbow inspiration is obvious but I thought the glittering black butterflies suited the second part of the quote nicely.

The second challenge I’m entering is the Crafty Friends Challenge 54 that has a theme “B is for…”. I think black butterflies qualify.

Simon Says Stamp currently has two challenges open that this card suits. The first is Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge with a theme of “things with wings” and the second is Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge that is a week of “anything goes”.

I had fun making this card, it was nice to make a “stamp free” card. While stamps can be great fun, they can also restrict your options, a little like patterned paper can. Colouring the background made this a very relaxing card to make!

Chameleon Pens used:

  • Fuschia PK5
  • Violet VO4
  • Cornflower Blue BL5
  • Turquoise BG3
  • Apple Green GR1
  • Summer Sun YL2
  • Seville Orange OR4
  • Vermillion RD3
  • Cool Grey #8
10 thoughts on “Black Butterflies

  1. Your card is wonderful! I really love all the work you put on making your background, great job! I must remember this in future, I have some stencils that might work for your technique. Thanks for the inspiration and thank you for taking TIME OUT and joining our challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

