Hello! Clean and simple cards are few and far between in my life. I’m always thinking I haven’t done enough and surely the card needs more.

CAS Colours and Sketches have attracted my attention with their latest challenge so I think it’s high time for me to attempt restraint and, rarely, complete a card in one day. 

When I saw their sketch I immediately saw the Blushing Rose die set I’d recently purchased. I thought they’d be a very quick make but it took longer than I expected.

I started off die cutting the background shapes using white cardstock. I could have made this card much quicker if I had used coloured cardstock for them. I decided before starting that I would make the background layers multi coloured by blending my favourite coloured Distress Inks. I used Shaded Lilac, Wilted Violet and Blueprint Sketch on the flowers, blending them in an ombré inspired style. I then used Twisted Citron and Mowed Lawn on the leaf backgrounds, keeping the tips of the leaves lightest. 

Once all the blending was complete, I allowed it all to dry while I cut the white fronts of each element. I attached the white pieces, aligning them with their matching background. I entertained the idea of glueing them into a slightly offset position but thought that it may appear too busy. The detailed fronts of each element looked more than enough.

I arranged all the elements of the display and glued them into place, using Ranger Matte Multi Medium for the leaves and foam tape for the flowers. I then slightly shaped the white pieces of each element to give dimension to the whole piece.
I decided to die cut a sentiment and wanted the ombré look to carry across to that as well. I inked a strip of white cardstock in the same manner as I used for the flowers, using the same colours. I centred the two dies for the sentiment on the area where the blended colours met and ran then through the die cutting machine. I added them to the card using Matte Multi Medium again. 

I finished the card by adding drops of Glossy Accents as water droplets to both the card and a couple of elements.

These roses are so intricate that I think adding anything more to the card would detract from their lovely design. I’m so glad I used them alone. Next time, however, I think a few less leaves may be in order. Keeping to extremely clean and simple can be so hard!

6 thoughts on “C.A.S. Roses

Leave a Reply

