Pink Peony Bouquet 

It’s time for Altenew’s February Inspiration Challenge and this month’s colours are always a challenge for me. Pink is far from my favourite colour, but I know it has a prominent place when making floral cards. In my perfect world every flower on the planet would be either purple or blue. Think about that for a second, how different would this world look?

I began this card with the floral section. I chose to work on a generic white cardstock that had a good tooth for pencil work. I stamped the floral elements from Altenew’s Peony Bouquet stamp set using Memento Dew Drops Desert Sand dye ink. I masked parts of the images, as required, as I added elements to build up the display. 

I then began by colouring the flowers with Prismacolor coloured pencils. I didn’t buy an “off the shelf” set of these pencils. Instead, I chose to buy individual pencils (online) to build my own set of pencils in the colours I preferred. I found, in the past, there are quite a few colours I’m not partial to in a typical set. While it was a little more expensive to buy the individual pencils, I now have colours in “my set” that work so much better together. 

When choosing my pencil colours, I aimed for each colour family to have at least three blendable shades. I also tried, as much as possible, to have those colours compliment other colour families as well. It took me three days of comparing colour charts to finally come up with a set I was happy with. I decided that if I was going to spend this sort of money on decent pencils, I may as well have colours I was going to use. In hindsight, I’m so glad I did that preparation, even if it did send me a little cross-eyed at the time. I’ve listed all the colours I used on this project at the end of this post.

I didn’t attempt to colour the whole floral display in one sitting. Instead, I coloured the same petals on each flower at the same time. This gave each flower the same appearance across the whole image. When colouring over several sittings, it’s very hard to replicate the exact same colouring technique in each sitting. Your technique tends to vary slightly each day. This can leave work looking inconsistent, but, by working on the same petals on all the flowers, it’s possible to eliminate visible inconsistencies.

Once I had completed the floral display, I spent time blending grey and greens together in the background voids. I wanted to give the appearance of this display having more foliage behind it, almost as if the flowers were still in the garden. I then fussy cut the top half of the image, leaving a slight edge for definition.

For the background, I embossed a 5″x7″ piece of cream cardstock using the Sue Wilson “sparkle square” embossing folder. I wanted to give the background an aged look, almost like patina on metal, so I broke the rules and misted the already embossed cardstock. When misting  after embossing, the mist tends to gravitate toward the raised edges, which is why you mist before embossing when you want a smooth finish. However, to mist after embossing gives a look of faux patina, in whatever shade you choose. For this piece, I chose to make a mist with water and Gold Perfect Pearls powder (PPP17721). 

I glued the cream background to the front of a 5″x7″ card base and added foam tape to the rear of my floral display before adhering it onto the cream background. I finished off with a small frame I cut from the cream card, using a generic die. I then added a gold “happy birthday” sticker to finish off.

In hindsight, I wish my cream cardstock had a decent tooth for pencil work. I would have preferred the floral panel was done on cream cardstock but I am happy with how the flowers turned out on the card I did use. I would never have got that shading right on cardstock with a smoother tooth. 

And, although not a typical method of misting, I love how the embossing was highlighted by the Perfect Pearls mist.

Prismacolor Pencils used on this project:

  • 929 Pink
  • 1018 Pink Rose
  • 1019 Clay Rose
  • 1089 Pale Sage 
  • 1096 Kelly Green
  • 985 Marine Green
  • 914 Cream
  • 1052 30% Warm Grey
2 thoughts on “Pink Peony Bouquet 

Leave a Reply

