In the doghouse…

Hello! This week I’ve made a quick card to enter into three different challenges. Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge theme is “pet circle” and Simon Says Stamp’s Work It Wednesday Challenge is to use something new in my stash. I recently bought lots of My Favorite Things products and just haven’t had a chance to use them. I thought I’d have a fiddle with my new toys and, using the design from this week’s My Favorite Things Sketch Challenge #318, I set out to make a card that qualifies for all three challenges.

Again, this is a 5″x7″ card, only this time I’ve made a top folding card. It’s impossible to make a top folding card with a single piece of A4 cardstock so I cut two pieces of 5″×8″ wide card. I cut one piece down to 7″ but didn’t trim the second piece, instead scoring it at 7″. I folded the piece along the score line and glued the 5″x7″ piece to the 1″ wide flap, making sure to align both edges and the top. I opened the card and laid it flat to dry. I used plenty of acid free PVA glue to do this because it gives such a strong bond. 

I started the card front by cutting a piece of light blue card down to 4 3/4″×7″. This card is some very old, generic cardstock I had lying around. It’s terrible to cut, leaving frayed edges along the cut line when I use a trimmer. Frankly, it’s just rubbish! I had to sand the edge of the card to smooth it out. I then lightly inked the edge with a mini blending tool and Tumbled Glass Distress Ink, just to give it a little definition.

Moving on to the features, I stamped and die cut a kennel from MFT You Make My Tail Wag stamps and its matching die set. I planned on using old, generic watercolour pens (similar to Tombow Markers) so I chose to stamp my images with Ranger Archival Jet Black ink. This ink is waterproof dye ink and gives a good, sharp impression that’s great to use with watercolours. And, being a dye ink, it’s a quick cleanup with a cheap chamois. I also stamped and die cut a small dog and ball from MFT Lucky Dog stamp set and the matching dies. I chose to die cut before colouring in case I made a mistake when die cutting. That way, I didn’t ruin my colouring work with a dodgy cut.

I quickly coloured all the elements with my watercolour pens. I picked up a darker colour with the matching lighter hue’s pen tip and blended the darker colour back out of the nib as I coloured each portion. This method makes colouring and blending quick and easy. I simply rub the darker marker onto my ceramic pallet and pick it up with the lighter nib. 

To build the scene, I die cut a picket fence, using MFT’s Picket Fence die. I also die cut a piece of grass from white cardstock using the straightest die from the MFT Grassy Hills die set

I wanted the grass to be relatively straight so I cut my grass in the centre of my strip of card and used both sides of my cut cardstock. I was putting one piece behind the fence so I knew it wouldn’t be seen much and look out of place. I coloured the grass using a mini blending tool and Mowed Lawn and Twisted Citron Distress Inks.

To build the scene, and using acid free PVA glue, I placed the grass along the bottom of the card. I then lifted it slightly, using my craft knife, to place the background grass in place. I start at the bottom and work upwards when building a scene so as not to leave any space between the layers. It also helps get the placement of all the pieces correct and using a wet glue gives me a few seconds of “slip” to position the piece perfectly.

I also placed the fence and kennel behind the front grass panel. I glued the dog and the ball in place, to finish the scene. I decided not to use any foam tape to lift any elements off the card as I thought just layering the different elements was more than enough dimension. It also makes this card easy to pop in the post.

I quickly stuck a strip of chevron Washi tape along the right side of the card base and then glued the scene panel into place, aligning it with the left side of the card.

I finished by stamping the sentiment, from the MFT Lucky Dog stamp set in two blue colours of Memento Dew Drops. Firstly, I stamped the sentiment in Bahama Blue and then inked the sentiment stamp along the bottom using Danube Blue. This gave the sentiment a two tone look. 

It was at this point I really regretted using the old light blue cardstock. The sentiment bled slightly with repeated stamping and, to me, left the card looking less than perfect. I considered reinking the stamp with VersaMark, and heat embossing the sentiment but I didn’t want to warp the card. This light blue card had already given me enough grief. 

My father’s words came back to haunt me yet again, “You’re only as good as your tools….” and I really think this light blue card belongs…  In the doghouse!

3 thoughts on “In the doghouse…

Leave a Reply

