Hi, or with this card, should I say High? This week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge theme is “Spread your wings, and fly”. While this card doesn’t have the wings, a balloon surely meets the criteria of flight. After all, the balloon was the first mechanism to get humanity off the ground.

This is a 5″x7″ card that was really quick to make. I had seen these colours used on a card by Laura Bassen, and I decided to have a go, at both the colours she used, and at her technique. Laura showed how to pivot a piece of post it tape, as a mask, on a single point to create the radiating background. 

I used a Ranger mini blending tool and Simon Says Stamp dye ink colours Cloudy Sky, Spring Rain, Scuba, Teal, Deep Sea, Blue Violet and Hot Mama for the radiating stripes. When I’d finished, all I could see was a stylised landscape. So, I thought a couple of hot air balloons would go nicely, with some clouds, on this piece.

I allowed the stripes to dry completely and then came in with Tumbled Glass and Broken China Distress Ink on the top of the card, for the sky. As the Simon Says Stamp dye inks are waterproof when dry, the Distress Ink didn’t blend with them, leaving a sharp line between land and sky. The Distress Ink also absorbed into the cardstock a little differently, giving another point of difference between land and sky.

Using Mama Elephant Sunny Skies stamp set, I stamped the elements for two hot air balloons. I used Simon Says Stamp dye inks Island Blue, Deep Sea on the first balloon, then Deep Sea and Soft Navy on the second. I stamped the whole balloon in the lightest colour first and then inked the stamp again in the darker colour. I blotted some of the ink off the stamp where I wanted the lighter area to remain and stamped a second time. This created a shadow effect on the balloons and using my Misti made this step simple. I then cut all the elements with their matching dies.

I added some clouds that I stamped with Memento Dew Drops London Fog, and then die cut them with the same Mama Elephant Sunny Skies set as the balloons.

Before finishing, I sprayed everything with Tsukineko Sparkle Sheer Shimmer Spritz. The Distress Ink in the sky reacted to the spray, giving it a very mild mottle effect, highlighting further the difference between land and sky.

I finished by gluing the clouds into place and adding the balloons with foam tape, for dimension. I also coated the balloons with Glossy Accents.

I just love how easy this technique is and how effective the results can be.

