This month’s Altenew Inspiration challenge colours screamed autumnal to me and it’ll be soon on the way in the southern hemisphere. I love that time of year, only because it means the long hot Australian summer is finally over!   

For this card, I started by stamping the Majestic Bloom and Remember This flowers onto Neenah white 80lb cardstock in Memento Desert Sand dye ink. I decided to use my Chameleon Burnt Umber (BR4) alcohol pen to colour the flowers. I had got several Chameleon Pens out to colour these flowers but, again, I only used the one pen. I felt the range of colour from the one pen was more than enough.

Once the flowers were coloured, I wanted to deepen the colour further.  I chose to use a simple dark brown Faber Castell coloured pencil instead of a darker marker. I wanted to keep a seamless blend look so a quick, gentle touch with the pencil, finishing with a quick rub of my finger, completed the flowers. The images were then die cut with their matching dies.

To place the die perfectly, I first cut a template with the die from a piece of card that the dies come packaged with. This packaging card is usually glossy and quite sturdy and will hold up to repeated usage. Getting a second use out of packaging is a great environmentally friendly money saver. I then place the negative space piece over the coloured image and tape it into place. I slip the die into the “hole” and run it through the die cutting machine. This gives great placement of the die every time and doesn’t ruin your work with a inaccurate cut. And once finished, I slip the negative space piece in with the die, in my storage folder, to use again in the future. Recycling taken to the limit!

I didn’t want to bring greens into this piece and using the foliage from the stamp sets didn’t look “quite right” in the same shading as the flowers. Instead, I die cut several different leaf shapes (dies I’d purchased on ebay) from a brown coloured cardstock that matched the colours I’d already used. All the elements were then shaped slightly with a “hockey stick” shaped embossing tool.

With all the floral elements ready, I turned to the card base. After a little experimentation, I decided on a square card, cutting an A4 sheet of cardstock down to make a 5 3/4″ top folding card.
I die cut a square postage stamp edge frame from JAC paper. I made this using a square postage stamp die (again, from eBay) to cut the shape, and then a basic stitched square die to cut out the centre. I adhered it directly to the card, in an off-centre placement that I thought looked best. It left plenty of room to place the flowers and balance out the final design.

After removing the backing paper from the JAC paper, I applied gold deco-foil directly onto the JAC paper. I did this by just pressing the transfer sheet firmly onto the adhesive surface, with my finger, and then gently lifting the plastic sheeting off. I could have also run the transfer sheet and card through my die cutting machine, using an embossing mat to press the transfer sheet onto the adhesive surface.

To finish the card, I added small dots with a gold Tsukineko irRESISTible Pico Embellisher to the centres of each flower and small dots randomly (as random as a control freak can) around the card, to resemble pollen blowing from the flowers.

Altenew makes some stunning stamp sets and I really think these floral stamps work quite well together, don’t you?

One thought on “Altenew January 2017 Challenge… In Autumnal Tones 

Leave a Reply

