Today I’m trying my luck and entering this card into the December Altenew Challenge . I have so many of their stunning stamp sets and it’s high time they got put to good use. 

When I was at primary school, we were always encouraged to decorate our work that was to be submitted. One trend that went around my class was to draw a floral “vine” around the border. Today, I’ve attempted to recreate that style with stamps.

For this card, I decided to use the colours that were a feature of Altenew’s March 2016 Inspiration Challenge.

My design combined two Altenew stamp sets. The leaves are from the Doodle Blooms stamp set, while the flowers are from the Floral Motifs stamp set.

I stamped the leaves first with Memento Dew Drops Cottage Ivy ink onto a 5″x7″ piece of Spectrum Noir Blending cardstock, leaving spaces for the flowers. I then added the flowers into the spaces using Memento Dew Drops Rose Bud ink. 

Once dry, I coloured the images with my Chameleon alcohol markers, using Apple Green (GR1) and Dark Sage (GR2) for the leaves. I decided to use only one pen, Fuschia (PK5), for the flowers, fusing the nib to get the gradient colours. I highlighted the tips of the flowers with the Chameleon colourless blender, using a flicking motion inwards.

To give shading around the outer edge, I chose Shabby Shutters Distress Ink and used a Clarity Stencil Brush to apply a light layer, blending it to shadow the floral elements. I then inked the edge, with Shabby Shutters, and attached it to a card base.

For the sentiment, I cut six Altenew Happy Birthday die shapes from dark pink cardstock. I glued them together with Ranger Multi Medium Matte Adhesive and topped them with a layer of shimmer with my Spectrum Noir Clear Overlay Sparkle pen. I finished off with a layer of Glossy Accents.

The sentiment looked a little “lonely” so I die cut six of each sized hearts from Simon Says Stamps heart die set, glued them into a stack and finished them off in the same way as I did for the sentiment. I think these hearts gave the sentiment the “companionship” it needed.

I just hope the girls at Altenew like what I’ve done with their creations.

2 thoughts on “Altenew Inspiration Challenge, December 2016

Leave a Reply

