Christmas, Simply Black and White.

With all the cards we make for the Christmas season, it wouldn’t be right to miss posting my favorite creation of my 2016 range.

My friend’s favorite sports team’s colors are black and white, so for each card I make her, I try to stick to the black and white theme, for everything, including Christmas!

I started by stamping the Hero Arts Poinsettia Stamp several times on a piece of 5″x7″ cardstock with Hickory Smoke Distress Ink. I then masked the flowers and stamped a few leaves around each flower. I made sure the cardstock I chose had a fine “tooth” that would allow the pencil to show with the lightest of touches. In this case, I actually used some cheap, generic brand watercolor paper I had lying around but Bristol Vellum cardstock would have worked just as well for the fine line detail I wanted. I felt something like the paper in a regular sketch pad would have had a too coarse “tooth” to show all the individual pencil strokes.

I then used a simple 2B lead in a mechanical pencil (all of which I paid $AU2 on Ebay!) to shade the petals. I like the fine lead of a mechanical pencil because I never need to sharpen and can just concentrate on the shading. I’ve found that “spinning” the pencil as I use it keeps the lead with a very usable tip. The “spinning” of the pencil has become such a habit over the years that I find myself doing it with every pen or pencil I use, which, in some cases, can be problematic. I also learned many years ago that 4B and 6B pencils can be too hard to rub out if you want to make changes.

Once all the shading was finished, I adhered the shaded panel onto a card base and rounded the corners.

To finish the card, and give it a feature, I cut “merry” with the Winnie & Walter “merry” die from some black cardstock five times. I glued the black die cuts together to create a stack and adhered the stack in place, all with Ranger Multi Medium Matte Adhesive. I also die cut a single “Christmas” word with Paper Smooches “Merry Christmas” die. I trimmed the “merry” from the die cut words and glued the “Christmas” in place. I finished off by placing two die cut snowflakes either side of the sentiment.

It probably wouldn’t be a Christmas card without some sort of sparkle so I used my Spectrum Noir Clear Overlay Sparkle Pen on the layered “merry”, the word “Christmas” and the snowflakes.

Let’s hope this card is a hit at Christmas this year!

3 thoughts on “Christmas, Simply Black and White.

  1. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I
    clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr…
    well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say great blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

